Okho (1996)

Created for
Richard Alston Dance Company
Iannis Xenakis
Okho (1989)
Psappha (1976)
Charles Balfour
Elizabeth Baker
Okho (1996) takes its starting point from two percussion pieces by the Greek composer Iannis Xenakis.
Alston says “Xenakis is a very interesting man, a mathematician and an architect as well as a musician; very much an intellectual. Although the music is complex, it is not at all dry or inaccessible, in fact it is very Greek and dramatic in style”.  Both the Xenakis pieces have a ritual quality which transcends all the complexities of musical invention, a primal quality which has demanded an earthy attack in the dancing.

Media & Resources


Okho Resource Sheet (PDF 94Kb)